Bedford Historical Society

Mystery History Run

2018 Mystery History Run

Saturday October 13, 2018 – 9 AM thru 1 PM

Come join a fun-filled, family-friendly event! The petrol-powered program begins behind the Train Depot on the Bedford Commons. Participants will visit local township historic places, gathering clues and answering historical questions for a chance to earn prizes! Lunch at the Bedford Falls Café is included in registration.Come out and join this fun filled, family friendly event! Participants will explore the area gathering clues and answering trivia questions for a chance to earn prizes. Lunch at Bedford Falls Café is included in your registration. Cost is $20.00 for a driver and navigator, additional passengers, $5.00.

For more information, contact Rich Novak at 440-439-6150 or rich52chief or contact Heather at 216-215-5982  or or call 440-232-0796.

1882 Wheeling & Lake Erie Train Depot

A 1920s passenger station is on display inside the historic depot. The depot is owned by the City of Bedford and the Society operates the passenger station exhibit to fulfill the qualifications of the restoration grant used to restore it. The station was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004 as a contributing structure within the Historic Business District.

Originally built by the Connotton Valley Railroad, the building had several owners including the Nickel Plate. The building is restored as it was during the Wheeling & Lake Erie years.

Significant Collections within the 1882 Wheeling & Lake Erie Railroad Depot:

  • Restored 1920s era passenger station museum.
  • Railroad depot furniture;
  • Conductor’s uniform;
  • Manuals and train related objects.
  • Original station master’s desk and chair
  • Lanterns and switching equipment
Learn more